RANT TIME: The Faceblight.

I can’t sleep, and I stumbled across something to rant about that I’ve been wanting to rant about for a long time.

I’ve been on SL since..ehhh..about 2005? Pretty damn long. And..back in the day I never saw anyone use facelights ever. And then suddenly at around..2008ish? give or take? They blew the hell up. And I could understand why for the most part. Sometimes you wear a skin that has those weird ass lines that you can’t really get rid of without blasting your face with alil light. Fair enough. But, there were still some people that put a fuckin’ SPOTLIGHT on their face.

It always confused me as to why some people go the length to buy like 1k+ lindo skins, and then put so much light on themselves that they just look like they took a bath in white-out. Maybe they just want more attention? Maybe they want to be goth but are too lazy to get a goth skin? *shrugs* I have no clue. I hope they realize they look ridiculous though. What I don’t think they realize is that it affects other people around them. If only sunglasses on SL were functional. *sighs*

Today, there really isn’t an excuse for that. Every new viewer has sky options. You can do your own lighting in the environment editor and make your skin and your sky look as pretty as you want it to. It’s easy to figure out, or you can easily get a pack of premade settings from a friend or from Emerald or whatever. Yay! Advancing into the future! sooo…then why do I still see this?

Like…oh my god..what is that? I swear to god I thought they were like magical shields or giant glowing testicles or some shit. That’s not even a facelight, it’s a BODYLIGHT for christs sake. *shakes his head* Everyone around this person was glowing like the SUN! From pretty damn far away too. This person was over by the new releases at Truth, and people were glowing from it alllllll the way at the entrance. And if one wasn’t bad enough..they have TWO? Cause you know..you can never have too much light searing your virtual skin. Look at a pic of me.

Granted I still look pretty dashing and cute with my floofy hair. But, wow. It’s like melting my face off. Sadly this person left before I could fully bitch them out about it. Maybe they’ll actually read this blog…although I’m pretty sure they didn’t speak English. But for real, people, if you don’t know…up on the top bar: World -> Sun -> Environment Editor -> Advanced Sky. Have fun with it.

I’m sorry, but it drives me crazy. I will only be content when I see all facelights wiped off the face of SL. When I’m trying to edit something or check something out, and someone slides up next to me and SOLAR FLARES me. That ain’t cool. Ambient lighting is great and I never would want to turn off local lighting because of it. So, save solar flaring to bald, three-eyed or monkey tailed people, please.

FUCK YO FACE…LIGHT!

6 thoughts on “RANT TIME: The Faceblight.

  1. Lol!! I agree..these days no excuse. The Emerald settings are manna from facelightless heaven. But, even with those, there are times and places that I still manage to look like the Bride of Chuckie. God knows what we look like to other people!!! EArly on in SL, my graphics card was just not up to doing sl even halfway well…so I used to wear three(yes,3) facelights. I looked sort of ok to myself but one day a friend sent me a pic….I looked like a lighthouse on speed! Lol..beauty is in the eye of how you behold yourself….even while we are blinding the poor souls around us!!

  2. LMFAO! OMG i had a good laugh reading this! all i can say is AMEN! I thought im a bitch cause i always tell people to turn that fuckin facelight OFF! People report you for griefing when u do something funny to then OR they report you for spaming cause u send them a freakin NC with FREE things on SL… I think there should be a button for reporting people with Facelights :D because i feel bothered by it!

    Thanks for that wonderfull post :)

    Kisses

  3. Thank you all for your comments. <3 Keep the fight alive, soldiers. Anti-facelight squad, transform and roll out! *80s music*

  4. Lol!! I agree..these days no excuse. The Emerald settings are manna from facelightless heaven. But, even with those, there are times and places that I still manage to look like the Bride of Chuckie. God knows what we look like to other people!!! EArly on in SL, my graphics card was just not up to doing sl even halfway well…so I used to wear three(yes,3) facelights. I looked sort of ok to myself but one day a friend sent me a pic….I looked like a lighthouse on speed! Lol..beauty is in the eye of how you behold yourself….even while we are blinding the poor souls around us!!
    +1

Leave a Reply

