[G-WTF.] 01.13.2011

[High Res + Credits @ Flickr!]

One thing I highly enjoy when role-playing, as I think most of us who role-play do, is the creation of characters and/or the creation of outfits. I love shopping and I like to go to different stores and just buy things here and there. One thing I cannot have enough of, though, are accessories. Belts, thigh belts, anything. I love to take an outfit that other people might also have and make it into something greater. Accessories help me accomplish that. I can’t have enough things to add on.  Literally, can not have enough. I buy so many accessory based things simply because I feel like it adds on to the role play.

For example, I play a bond-maid in Torvaldsland. Cold there, obviously — snow and all. She is a slave to a traveler who trades and sells fur. This means she’s more likely to wear fur accessories as well as carry a lot of things. She has to be useful so she carries most of the furs and rations and whatever miscellaneous items and the backpack, belt and leg items sure have enough room to hold things for two people. With fur, the small poncho/cloak, the scarf, the mittens and the boots all reflect the usage of furs, skins and leathers and she adorns her head with the odd pair of tabuk, verr, deer, Kailiauk, Bosh, whatever horned-animal-type horns. Given as they only sometimes traded or sold the horns, she’s able to keep a few pairs as accessories.

I like to keep my clothing neutral. Browns, tans, sand-tones, off-whites; Anything that seems like it wouldn’t take a lot of processing. She is new to her role as a slave and if she acquires anything that is of far greater quality then her simple kirtles, they would be for special occasions. Extremely special seeing as bond-maids serve naked in the long-houses (unless in the presence of a free woman). and besides, neutrals just look way more viking-ish don’t you think?

I will make one note, the belt is from Ever After and I wish that they had more things for sale. They seem to cater just to belts and accessories and it’s exactly what I need to add more to in my inventory.

If anyone has any suggestions for great gorean clothing and accessory stores, please do drop a line with the name! I’m always looking for great pieces to supplement my RP stuff too. I’m also always looking for great winter-ish articles of clothing as well as nicely made kirtles and bond-maid outfits.

Leave a Reply

