[double.] + May’s Soul “Leonor”

(Please check out the full credits & High Res @ Flickr.)

This is something that I’ve wanted to do for a while now but was given the opportunity to a few days ago. May Tolsen gifted me this outfit and while I adore it as its own outfit, I wanted to do a different approach to blogging it (I hope you don’t mind!). In Gor, there is a very minimal market still for nice, cute and super nice quality clothing and May’s Soul is one of them. While texture work isn’t super extreme, it’s constantly getting better and it’s not unwearable and is actually really nice, it kind of gives it all a more “natural” or “rustic” feel to it, instead of all the nice and sleek modern textures on the mainstream clothing. I’m in no way saying it’s bad at all, I honestly wear things from May’s Soul almost daily and check the store frequently for new releases and discounted items. Outfits come complete and are very affordable, so if you haven’t stopped by May’s Soul yet, I really suggest it. I like the store build, too :)

Anyways, where was I? As I was saying, the market is still a bit sparse (in comparison to the modern market) so there is a high chance that girls will be wearing the same things, even men in the same things. When something is good, there is no doubt that everyone will go out and get it and this obviously over-saturates it. I’ve seen some great pieces of male pieces worn by over a handful of men just from lurking Gor Hub. For me, the idea of this creates a problem. I like to be myself and stand out from the other girls. While I still try to portray my role as a Bond-Maid (a Slave Girl in Northern Gor) as closely as I can because I prefer a more By-The-Book approach to my Role-Play over “Evolved”, I still want to look unique. Both of these outfits, in my opinion are “Slave Wear” and I’ll explain the left one more-so than the right as to why.

As I said earlier, it’s said that during the winter, slaves do indeed wear pants. The issue is that pants aren’t very revealing at all and since it’s winter and obviously cold, a lot of skin is going to be covered up which isn’t allowed by a Slave. To be fully conservative and covered is the right of a Free Woman and more-so, a Slave must wear clothing that is easily removable or, ahem, bypassed in-case their owner wishes for them to serve in the long-house (in the north) where bond-maids serve naked. How I tried to balance that was with a very billowy and loose shirt under a high-cut and open little tunic. In my eyes, the loose fabric bares the stomach when there’s movement and since obviously, there is nothing under it, if her Jarl wants to slip his hands up her shirt and sneak in a squeeze, the ability is there and the clothing aren’t getting in the way of it.

The right one is more Summer bond, or even Southern sans shoes. The camisk looks like it’s plain unbleached linen split down almost to the navel, like how the top of Kirtles are described to be, which paired with the belt could technically make this some sort of psuedo-kirtle.  As a Bond, I tend to use a lot of accessories because unlike their Southern counterparts, they usually do a lot more in terms of work and labor and since my Jarl and I travel around a lot still, the idea of carrying little things we need or purchase during our travels as one of my tasks makes its plausible. I had someone laugh at me for it, saying it was wrong because I “owned so much stuff” because I was wearing it but just because I am holding it does not make it “my property” or any other slaves property for that matter. If their Master or Mistress tells the to carry the backpack full of supplies then they damn well will carry the fucking backpack full of supplies.

So, when you go shopping. Don’t get scared of not liking an outfit as a whole and try to have a wider outlook on it.  I know I will sometimes see an outfit and not like it too much on its own but they I’ll remember a piece of clothing in my inventory or something I saw in a store but never bought that would go *perfectly* with it and make it my own personal style and suddenly it becomes like a favorite outfit of mine. Like they say with anything, the only thing stopping you is yourself so don’t be scared to be yourself.

Leave a Reply

